Former UFC Fighter Juan Adams Uses Damaging Ground and Pound To Become New Fury FC Heavyweight Champion

Former UFC fighter Juan Adams put together an incredibly dominant three-round performance against Richard Odoms to become the new Fury FC Heavyweight Champion on Sunday night.

The victory headlined Fury FC 49, which took place at the Cowboy’s Dancehall in San Antonio, Texas, USA.

All three rounds went the same for Adams. He was able to get the fight down early in every frame, then using his control on the ground to unload with dozens of strikes.

The fight was stopped in between the third and fourth rounds.

The toughness of Odoms was on display throughout, as he withstood a beating in every round but remained in the fight. Adams seemingly came close to a finish numerous times in the fight, as he would often connect with a series of shots that went uncontested by Odoms.

Adams gave credit to Odoms afterward.

“He gave me a better fight than I’ve had since the UFC,” said Adams in his post-fight interview.

Sunday’s main event continued recent post-UFC success for Adams. He has now earned three wins in Fury FC since returning earlier this year. His previous victories, a stoppage win over Jeremy Hardy and a submission victory against Eric Lunsford, both came within a round.

Adams fought in the UFC from 2018 to 2020, earning one win and three losses during his stint.

Odoms was competing for the first time since 2019. The former LFA Heavyweight Champion had defeated Michael Stahl in his previous bout.

Caballero Caps Off Performance With Third-Round Submission

Strong grappling from Peter Caballero caused a third-round finish in the co-main event, catching Timothy Lewis late with a rear naked choke.

The submission came after Caballero attempted numerous holds on the ground.

A large portion of the fight saw Caballero controlling Lewis on the ground, keeping him on his back in the first and second rounds.

Caballero has been on a roll as of late, now having scored three wins between Combate Global and Fury FC.

Lewis was making his first appearance in over a year. He took his first pro loss in his last fight, dropping scorecards to Chris SanJose in early 2020.

Junior Scores First Win Since 2013

MMA veteran Rivaldo Junior had a successful return to the cage on Sunday, submitting Justin Linn with a guillotine choke early in the second round after a hectic opening.

Junior looked for the guillotine choke early in the second round, pulling guard to intensify the submission on the ground. This move paid off, as Linn tapped out shortly after.

Junior and Linn had a close first round, battling in close grappling exchanges on the floor.

The win was Junior’s first since 2013. He had lost his previous four bouts and was competing for the first time since 2018.

Linn is now on a two-fight losing streak. His previous bout was a decision loss to Jake Heffernan in June.

Rosen Earns First Stoppage Win, Result Causes Controversy

Josh Rosen picked up a somewhat controversial first-round submission win over Frank Meno. The point of contention from Meno’s side after the fight was that the referee made the call to end the fight too early.

Rosen was able to score a takedown in the first round and put in a rear naked choke from the back of Meno. The referee decided to stop the fight while the choke attempt was in, causing Meno to immediately protest the stoppage.

The victory on Sunday was Rosen’s first stoppage win since turning pro in 2019. He is now on a four-fight winning streak.

Meno was looking to bounce back from a submission loss he took to Josh Altum in April.

Torres Continues Win Streak With Close Split Decision

Eddie Torres prevailed in a close bantamweight bout against John Yannis, taking a split decision win on Sunday.

The back-and-forth battle saw both fighters utilize their wrestling and striking throughout. Torres’ best moment was easily in the first round, where he was able to drop Yannis with a right cross.

Torres is now on a three-fight winning streak. He had won earlier this year, taking another close scorecard win over John Pham.

Yannis was coming off a pro debut win over Nico Kambasis from January.

Brooks Continues Flawless Fury FC Run

Avery Brooks extended his undefeated record to three-straight with a first-round submission win over Mikey Patterson.

Brooks was able to control the fight on the ground, moving from full guard to the back of Patterson to attempt a rear naked choke.

Brooks has scored three wins since turning pro in 2017. All three of his performances have been stoppage wins in the Fury FC cage.

Patterson was coming off a first-round loss that he took against Morgan Oriahi in May.

Rosas Ends Losing Streak, Scores First Pro Win

Kenia Rosas earned her first pro win to open the main card, submitting Fatima Mallett in the first round with a guillotine choke.

Rosas was able to secure the choke after hurting Mallett on the feet with punches.

Rosas unloaded with punches halfway through the round, eventually connecting with a shot that dropped Mallett. Rosas was quick to get the choke on the ground after for the submission.

Rosas had lost her two previous pro fights, including a 2016 bout against now-UFC fighter Mackenzie Dern.

Quick Results:

Main Card (5:30PM EDT / 4:30PM CDT) (UFC Fight Pass)

Bout 21: Juan Adams def. Richard Odoms via TKO, Strikes (RD 3, 5:00) (Vacant Fury FC Heavyweight Championship)

Bout 20: Peter Caballero def. Timothy Lewis via Submission, Rear Naked Choke (RD 3, 2:19)

Bout 19: Rivaldo Junior def. Justin Linn via Submission, Guillotine Choke (RD 2, 1:00)

Bout 18: Josh Rosen def. Frank Meno via Submission, Rear Naked Choke (RD 1, 2:26)

Bout 17: Eddie Torres def. John Yannis via Decision, Split

Bout 16: Avery Brooks def. Mikey Patterson via Submission, Rear Naked Choke (RD 1, 2:52)

Bout 15: Kenia Rosas def. Fatima Mallett via Submission, Guillotine Choke (RD 1, 2:25)

Preliminary Card (Results retrieved from on-site photographer Mike Jackson).

Bout 14: Robert Casper def. Robert Rodriguez via TKO, Strikes (RD 1)

Bout 13: Kaleb Petereit def. Joe Saucedo via TKO, Strikes (RD 1)

Bout 12: Stephen Perez def. Chris Kuntschik via Submission, Rear Naked Choke (RD 1)

Bout 11: Carlos Munaretto def. Arturo Tanguma via Decision, Unanimous (Fury FC Amateur Featherweight Championship)

Bout 10: Akram Gharib def. Richard Palacios via Submission, Guillotine Choke (RD 1) (Amateur)

Bout 9: Kody Steele def. Kane Lewis via TKO, Strikes (RD 3) (Amateur)

Bout 8: Felipe Rocha def. Emilio Castillo via Submission, Rear Naked Choke (RD 1) (Amateur)

Bout 7: Adam Gates def. Jordan Gloria via TKO, Strikes (RD 2) (Amateur)

Bout 6: Zack Borrego def. Forrest Mudge via TKO, Strikes (RD 3) (Amateur)

Bout 5: Jake Christensen def. Kai Viesca via Submission, Rear Naked Choke (RD 3) (Amateur)

Bout 4: Isaac Vasquez def. Jake Lira via Submission, Rear Naked Choke (RD 2) (Amateur)

Bout 3: Ned Johnson def. Sean Balusek via TKO, Strikes (RD 1) (Amateur)

Bout 2: Juan Maltos def. Kyle Petereit via Submission, Guillotine Choke (RD 3) (Amateur)

Bout 1: Kaleb Fourtner def. Joe Flores via TKO, Doctor Stoppage (RD 1) (Amateur)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s