Dana White’s Contender Series Season 5 Episode 3: Five Fighters Walk Away With UFC Contracts

Five UFC contracts were handed out at Tuesday night’s episode of “Dana White’s Contender Series,” continuing the season’s trend of an incredibly high rate of fighters getting UFC contracts.

The major MMA promotion offered contracts to Jasmine Jasudavicius, Jack Della Maddalena, Lukasz Brzeski, Albert Duraev and Jailton Almeida after they won their fights on the episode.

UFC has now signed 14 of 15 winners this season, and one loser in a bout was also given a contract with the promotion. The show is set to run for seven more episodes before concluding in late 2021.

The fights took place at the UFC APEX in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA.

Almeida Secures Contract In Main Event Submission

Almeida secured a submission victory in the main event of Tuesday’s show, handing Nasrudin Nasrudinov his first pro loss with a second-round rear naked choke.

Almeida had a close grappling battle against Nasrudinov earlier in the fight, both attempting submissions while on the ground.

Almeida has a long reputation to be a quick finisher, putting away nine consecutive opponents within two rounds via strikes or submission.

Miller Extends Undefeated Record, Becomes Sole Winner Not Offered Contract In Season

Mo Miller, the winner in the co-main event, was the sole fighter to not be awarded a UFC contract at the end of the episode. He used wrestling to control Brandon Lewis through three rounds, defeating him via unanimous decision and handing the bantamweight his first pro loss.

Miller scored a takedown in every round and used the position to control Lewis from full guard.

While not in the UFC, Miller still has an undefeated record of six wins, including two previous wins in the LFA.

Duraev Scores Quick Win

Duraev had the quickest win on the card, submitting Caio Bittencourt within a round with a rare neck crank submission.

Duraev smothered Bittencourt on thre ground before the finish, taking his back on the ground and scoring with dozens of head punches.

Duraev has now gone undefeated since 2015.

Brzeski Finishes Performance With Submission

Polish heavyweight Brzeski capped off a dominant win over Dylan Potter on Tuesday night with a third-round rear naked choke.

Brzeski had a strong showing prior to the finish, significantly out-landing Potter during striking exchanges.

Potter protested the stoppage afterward, claiming he didn’t tap out to the choke.

Brzeski was getting the “Contender Series” call-up after a strong run on the regional scene in Poland.

Della Maddalena Uses Striking For Decision Win

Della Maddalena went to scorecards early in the evening, Ange Lossa via unanimous decision.

Della Maddalena out-landed Loosa on the feet, charging forward with combinations that were connecting well. Loosa would have brief moments of control when taking Della Maddalena to the ground, although that wasn’t prioritized in the decision.

Loosa’s best moment was in the second round, where he looked for an arm triangle choke while in side control.

Della Maddalena, a former Eternal MMA Welterweight Champion, is now on a 10-fight winning streak that includes numerous stoppage wins.

Loosa entered the bout after some time outside of the cage, with his previous bout being a win in Titan FC two years back.

Jasudavicius Earns Scorecard Win To Open Card

The card kicked off with former strawweight Jasudavicius moving up to flyweight to defeat Julia Polastri via unanimous decision.

Jasudavicius had a dominant start to her fight, taking Polastri down early and unloading with ground and pound until the first round expired.

The bout became much closer in the second round as Polastri kept the fight on the feet and landed strikes. Jasudavicius scored another takedown late in the fight to land with more strikes on the ground.

Jasudavicius entered Tuesday with a pro record of five wins and just one loss. She was coming off a decision win that she earned over Ashley Deen on a recent CFFC card.

The loss for Polastri snapped a six-fight winning streak.

Quick Results:

Bout 6: Jailton Almeida def. Nasrudin Nasrudinov via Submission, Rear Naked Choke (RD 2, 1:49)

Bout 5: Mo Miller def. Brandon Lewis via Decision, Unanimous

Bout 4: Albert Duraev def. Caio Bittencourt via Submission, Neck Crank (RD 1, 3:29)

Bout 3: Lukasz Brzeski def. Dylan Potter via Submission, Rear Naked Choke (RD 3, 3:51)

Bout 2: Jack Della Maddalena def. Ange Loosa via Decision, Unanimous

Bout 1: Jasmine Jasudavicius def. Julia Polastri via Decision, Unanimous

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s