PFL Announces Lightweight and Featherweight Lineups For 2021 Season

PFL announced the roster for their 2021 lightweight and featherweight divisions Tuesday. The lineups include new names, returning PFL talent, former UFC and Bellator fighters and more.

The fighters will compete under PFL’s season format, which includes a regular season and playoffs. The season is set to begin on April 23rd and will culminate by the end of the year.

The 2021 season is PFL’s third since forming in 2018. The promotion will be returning from a year-long hiatus in 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Full Lightweight Lineup Revealed

Two-time PFL Champion Natan Schulte will return in the 2021 season. Schulte went undefeated in 2019, picking up five wins in total. His fifth win in the year saw him win earn second consecutive PFL Lightweight Championship, defeating Loik Radzhabov via unanimous decision after five rounds. 2019 PFL finalist Radzhabov will also participate in the 2021 season.

Former UFC and WEC Lightweight Champion Anthony Pettis will begin his PFL career in the 2021 season. Pettis departed the UFC in 2020 after 20 fights for the promotion. He finished his UFC run with two wins, defeating Donald Cerrone and Alex Morono in 2020.

Olivier Aubin-Mercier will make the move from UFC to PFL after half a decade under the promotion. Aubin-Mercier’s UFC run concluded after a three-fight losing streak.

Returning after a short yet hectic run in boxing, Clay Collard will compete in the PFL. Collard had a successful boxing run in 2020, picking up five wins before losing a fight to Quincy LaVallais in December.

Former Bellator and UFC fighter Marcin Held will join PFL for their 2021 season. Held has recently competed in Russia, earning three wins from 2018 to 2019.

Returning after for his second PFL run, Johnny Case will participate in the 2021 season. Case was part of PFL in 2018, but departed late in the year to start a stint in Japanese promotion RIZIN. Case put together a record of three wins and one loss in RIZIN before re-joining PFL in 2020.

Akhmet Aliev will also be in PFL’s lightweight class. Aliev had a record of two wins and two losses in the 2019 PFL season. He was eliminated by Schulte in the 2019 playoffs.

Joilton Lutterbach will join the PFL after a four-fight win streak on the regional scene.

Mikhail Odintsov will be one of the new PFL entrants who was signed to the promotion after winning a tournament. Defeating Svyatoslav Shabanov and Timur Nagibin in 2020, Odintsov won a tournament under RCC that guaranteed him a spot in a PFL season.

Eight Fighters Announced For PFL’s Featherweight Division

2018 and 2019 PFL Featherweight Champion Lance Palmer will look for his third title in 2021. Palmer currently has a perfect PFL record of 10 wins through two seasons. When including a win before PFL’s season format, Palmer is currently on an 11-fight win streak.

Former Brave CF Featherweight Champion Bubba Jenkins will make his PFL debut in 2021. The former Bellator fighter is on a three-fight win streak from the past few years.

Brendan Loughnane will compete in the 2021 season. Loughnane competed twice in PFL in 2019, defeating Matt Wagy and David Valente via decision.

Undefeated fighter Movlid Khaybulaev will participate in the 2020 season as well. Khaybulaev is part of one of PFL’s best known moments, scoring a flying knee knockout against Damon Jackson in 2019. Khaybulaev last fought in November, defeating Zaka Fatullazade on a UAE Warriors card.

Jo Sungbin will make his PFL debut in the 2021 season. The South Korean prospect had a strong run on the regional scene from 2014 to 2018, picking up nine consecutive wins. Jo’s last fight was his sole UFC fight, where he lost a fight to Daniel Teymur in 2019.

Fighting for the first time since a five-fight UFC run, Sheymon Moraes will compete in PFL’s Featherweight division. Moraes’ UFC career concluded after he lost fights to Sodiq Yusuff and Andre Fili in 2019.

Following a successful 2019 on the regional scene, Tyler Diamond has singed with the PFL. After participating on season 27 of “The Ultimate Fighter,” Diamond has picked up two wins on the regional scene.

Undefeated Titan FC Featherweight Champion Jason Soares will pariticpate in the promotion’s featherweight division. Soares has had a strong run in Titan FC in recent years, picking up four stoppage wins in championship fights.

PFL is still set to announce the final two spots of their featherweight division.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s