Eddie Alvarez’s recent ONE Championship fight against Iuri Lapicus has been overturned from a disqualification loss to a no contest, per a report from Ariel Helwani of ESPN.
The disqualification was originally handed to Alvarez due to illegal strikes he landed to the back of Lapicus’ head during a fight at the promotion’s April 7th card at the Singapore Indoor Stadium in Singapore. The referee then decided to give Alvarez a “red card,” which forced his fight to stop via disqualification under, ONE’s rules.
While some of the strikes that Alvarez landed are still recognized as illegal, “a procedural misstep” from the referee forced the overturned ruling, per a panel from ONE that assessed the issue.
The panel concluded that a warning to Alvarez would have been the right handling from the referee instead of giving him a “red card” for the strikes.
Alvarez was attempting to earn his second win since joining ONE Championship in 2019. The former UFC Champion already has a new date for his next fight, as he is scheduled to fight Ok Rae Yoon at the promotion’s live April 28th card at the Singapore Indoor Stadium in Singapore.