Kayla Harrison, Julia Budd To Headline Final Regular Season PFL Event of 2022

Kayla Harrison gets her arm raised by a referee while in the PFL cage.
Kayla Harrison will headline PFL’s July 1st event (Cooper Neill / PFL)

PFL’s 2022 regular season will conclude on July 1st with a 10-fight card headlined by lightweights Kayla Harrison and Julia Budd.

The card is scheduled to take place at the Overtime Elite Arena in Atlanta, Georgia, USA, per an announcement made this week.

Harrison, a two-time PFL Lightweight Champion, will be attempting to secure her playoff spot with a second win of the year. She currently has three points in the division, as she earned a decision victory over Marina Mokhnatkina earlier this year.

Budd will be fighting to bounce back from an unsuccessful first fight from this season. The former Bellator Featherweight Champion lost a bout in May, dropping a decision to Genah Fabian.

UFC and Bellator veteran Rory MacDonald will return in the co-main event to face Sadibou Sy at welterweight.

MacDonald earned his first PFL win in May, securing a first-round rear naked choke submission against Brett Cooper. This turned things around for him after an unsuccessful 2021 in the PFL that saw him take two consecutive losses via decision.

Sy scored a close win in his earlier victory this season, earning a split decision over Nikolay Aleksakhin. The bout was a rematch from 2021, with the first meeting between them resulting in an unsatisfying no contest.

Lower on the main card, 2021 champion Ray Cooper III will face veteran Brett Cooper. Both welterweights will be aiming to score their first win of the season.

In the opening bout on the main card, 2021 finalist Magomed Magomedkerimov will make his first appearance of the year against Joao Zeferino.

Full Lineup

PFL is scheduled to present 10 fights in total. The prelims include names like undefeated Magomed Umalatov, lightweight finisher Larissa Pacheco, and veteran Gleison Tibau.

The lineup is notably without Carlos Leal, who pulled off an upset win last month against Cooper III. Despite the win, the former LFA Welterweight Champion is an “alternate” for the tournament, per a social media post by the promotion.

Here’s the full bout order:

Main Card

Bout 10: Kayla Harrison (13-0) vs. Julia Budd (16-4) (Lightweight)

Bout 9: Rory MacDonald (23-8-1) vs. Sadibou Sy (10-6-2) (Welterweight)

Bout 8: Ray Cooper III (24-8-1) vs. Brett Cooper (28-16) (Welterweight)

Bout 7: Magomed Magomedkerimov (29-6) vs. Joao Zeferino (26-10) (Welterweight)

Preliminary Card

Bout 6: Jarrah Al-Silawi (18-3) vs. Magomed Umalatov (11-0) (Welterweight)

Bout 5: Larissa Pacheco (16-4) vs. Genah Fabian (5-2) (Lightweight)

Bout 4: Gleison Tibau (36-16) vs. Nikolay Aleksakhin (26-7) (Welterweight)

Bout 3: Marina Mokhnatkina (6-3) vs. Abby Montes (3-1) (Lightweight)

Bout 2: Martina Jindrova (5-2) vs. Zamzagul Fayzallanova (7-2) (Lightweight)

Bout 1: Olena Kolesnyk (6-4) vs. Vanessa Melo (11-9) (Lightweight)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s